legislative internship.

On January 23, 2017, I started a 45 day adventure as an intern in the Utah House of Representatives. I was a little nervous at first. I knew going in that it was going to be a great experience but I never imagined how incredible it would be.

The Utah Legislative Session runs for 45 days. It is one of the shortest sessions in the United States. During this short time Representatives (and Senators) must get their legislation drafted, numbered, to the floor, through committee, etc. This means many early mornings and many late nights. On the final night, at midnight. Everything stops. Even if they are in the middle of debating a bill. It’s just over. This is called Sine Die.

During the session I worked with Representative Hutchings. I am so thankful for the opportunity to work with him. It was such an awesome experience. He is so passionate about what he does and he cares so much. He has been serving in the House since 2001 and serves as the Speaker Pro Tempore, so when the Speaker cannot be on the floor for some reason, he fills in. Which means I had the chance to sit up at the dias (the fancy desk in front of the chamber) a few times.

Our legislators here in Utah are called citizen legislators. They do not make laws for a living. They all have other jobs that they must take time off from in order to participate in this public service. They miss time with their families and make many sacrifices.

 

I learned many things during this session but I also made some amazing lifelong friends. This experience wouldn’t have been what it was without these three. They make me laugh so hard that I cried. They gave advice. I couldn’t have been blessed with a better group of friends during all of this.

And I always knew where to find them when the bells started chiming. 😉

I could not have asked for better. From the beautiful marble building to the Green Coats, Pages, and “Kitchen Caucus.” Getting to work in such a beautiful place everyday with such passionate and talented people is an experience I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

