looking back at 2016.

My goal for 2016 was to go on as many adventures as I could. 2016 has probably been one of my favorite years of my whole life. I had so many wonderful adventures and so much joy.

January 1. Bear Lake. This was the first adventure of the year, we spent most of the day in the car, just talking and laughing. It was super cold outside that day so we only got out of the car for a few minutes to take pictures. But it was beautiful.

img_0375img_0390

February 28. State Capitol and Trolley Square. We spent the day exploring. The ending to this day was an adventure of its own.

March 12-19. For Spring Break this year I participated in an Alternative Spring Break program through my school. I traveled to Santa Cruz with a group and volunteered with various organizations working to restore ecosystems and save the oceans. It was one of the best experiences.

img_0646img_0733

March 24-28. The following weekend Cailin surprised me with a trip to Seattle. It was my favorite adventure of the year. This is where we got engaged.

img_0810img_1890We of course had to stop and see Meredith Grey’s house. img_0823And Grey-Sloan Memorial Hospital (fun fact: its actually a news station).img_0845img_0828img_0839img_0866img_0907

June 17-18. Running Ragnar was one of the most physically and mentally challenging things I have ever done. 12 people in 2 vans run over 200 miles over the course of 2 days. It was so worth it to get to the end and receive that medal.

img_1280img_1303img_1305img_5967

July 10-15. July seemed like a good time to go to Yellowstone and the Tetons, but we were so wrong. It was about 30 degrees almost every day we were there and it even snowed our first night. By the end of the week the sun came out but it was still chilly. They were so beautiful and we enjoyed getting to spend sometime unplugged and together.

img_1473img_1505img_1507img_1515img_1565img_1541img_1544

img_1557img_1570img_1594

October 20-23. My mom, little M, and I went out to California for a baby shower of a family friend and we stopped at the Salt Flats on the way. I had driven past them many times but never when they were covered in water. It made them look so incredible.

fullsizeoutput_4de.jpegfullsizeoutput_4e6.jpegWe stayed with my grandparents the first night and all went to the baby shower together.  img_1943Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places and I will stop there any chance that I get. It was on the way so naturally we had to stop to take pictures. img_1966laketahoe

November 4. Every year around Halloween we drive up to Snowbasin and walk to our tree. We have been doing it for three years now and it is one of my favorite traditions. We carved our initials into this tree the very first year we were dating.

img_0079img_0080

November 23-26. This was the last adventure of the year. We went down to Southern Utah with Cailin’s parents to see his family for Thanksgiving. I had never been before and it was so pretty down there. I also completely forgot to take pictures of the beautiful red rocks.

 

2016 was great!

Leave a Reply

