first blog post- choose love.

IMG_1202

For a long time I have struggled with fear.

Fear of making mistakes. Fear of not fitting in. Fear of failure. Fear of missing out. Fear of losing people. Fear of speaking up. The list goes on.

A few months ago I was sitting in a church service. I was half listening to the pastor talk about fear and love. It had been a long week and I was having a hard time staying focused.  Then something that he said stuck out to me.

He said that the opposite of love is not hate, it is fear.

Fear causes people to run from love. To turn away from it. But this is not what God has intended for us. There is a verse from 1 John that talks about this.

There is no fear in love. But perfect love casts out fear. –1 John 4:18 NIV

He wants us to choose love. To choose to see love first. Before judgement or fear. Choose to see others with the love that Jesus has for us.

Ever since the day I heard this, I realized that I have nothing to fear. God has conquered all fear. I am to choose love. I am a fearless child of God.

I am made fearless in Jesus’ name.

I prayed to the Lord and He answered me. He freed me from all my fears. -Psalm 34: 4 NLT

Leave a Reply

